Bhagavad Gita, the song of God: a brief introduction to chapters 1 to 5 (of 18)

What is the Bhagavad Gita?

Lord Krishna volunteers to be the driver of Arjuna’s chariot during the war between the Kauravas and the Pandavas, who are blood relatives, fighting for the throne of Hasthinapura. Just before the war starts, Arjuna wants to see the rival army and orders his chariot driver to take him in front of them and he only sees his relatives and relatives in the rival army and is totally discouraged. Unwilling to win the throne by killing his own blood relative, he throws his bow and arrow to the ground and feels melancholy. Krishna then comforts him and encourages him with His Divine teachings to do his duty regardless of the outcome. Finally, Arjuna obtains the required clarification and goes to war.

The scope of this article:

Reading the Bhagavad Gita in its original script (Sanskrit) is the best. However, there are several English translations with transliteration available and the work of Bhakthivedanta Swami Prabhupata, founder of ISKCON, is considered here.

What is ISKCON?

ISKCON, International Society for Krishna Consciousness was founded by Sri Bhakthi Vedanta Swami Prabhupada in America and has now spread throughout the world. Prabhu has written several books, mainly translated from Hindu scriptures, His translation of the Bhagavad Gita in English is one of the best and simplest (904 pages) and is reviewed here for the benefit of those who wish to learn the Bhagavad Gita and who do not. make. know Sanskrit in which language the teachings are originally available.

The format of the book:

Sanjaya is broadcasting live to the blind king Dhridharashtra, father of Kauravas, about the events on the Kurukshetra battlefield. Therefore, the Bhagavad Gita is also contained in its narration (perhaps this is the first LIVE commentary in the whole world).

Bhagavad Gita (Gita for short) contains 18 chapters, each with a number of verses known as Slokas. They are listed as follows:

1. Arjuna Vishadha Yoga (Arjuna’s pain) 47 verses

2. Sankhya Yoga (Yoga of knowledge) 72 verses

3. Karma Yoga (yoga of action) 43 verse

4. Karma gyana Yoga (Yoga of karma through knowledge) 42 verses

5. Karma Sanyasa yoga (Yoga of renunciation) 29

6. Dhyana Yoga (Yoga of meditation) 47.

7. Gyana vigyana Yoga (Yoga of knowledge and experimentation) 30

8. Akshara Brahma Yogam (Yoga to achieve Eternal Brahma) 28

9. Raja Vidhya Raja Guhya Yoga (Yoga of secret mystical knowledge) 34

10. Vibuthi Yoga (Yoga of divine glory) 42

11. Viswaroopa Dharsana Yoga (Vision of GOD in His Universal Form) 55

12. Bhakthi Yoga The Yoga of Devotion 20

13. Kshetra kshetragna yoga The Yoga of the abode and the inhabitant. 3. 4

14. Gunathra vibhaga yoga: The three Gunas (three incorporated characters) 27

15. Purushothuma yoga: the supreme being 20

16. Deyvasura sampath Yoga: Comparison of the diabolical qualities of Yoga and the Divine. 24

17. Shradhathraya Vibhaga yoga: differences in worship according to 3 gunas 28

18 Moksha Sanyasa Yoga The Yoga of Renunciation 78

The following is a brief synopsis of the content of each chapter, which can serve as a catalyst to navigate the entire book.

Chapter 1: Arjuna Vishadha Yoga

This chapter explains Arjuna’s plight at the start of the war through the words of Sanjaya. who explains the situation on the battlefield where the battle is about to begin. Arjuna wants the driver of his chariot (Lord Krishna) to place the chariot midway between both armies. He only sees his relatives, friends and Gurus (Masters) on the opponent’s field. He laments “why should I kill my relatives and friends and aspire to return?” Saying that, he throws down all his weapons and sits in the car in a totally confused state.

Chapter 2: Sankhya Yoga

Lord Krishna begins His sermon from this chapter, which consists of two aspects.

1. The first aspect is: There is no death for the soul. “The sages never mourn neither for the living nor for the dead, because the existence of the soul is there for all time. The Atma (soul) travels from one body to another at death. No one could destroy that imperishable soul. The body It will definitely die, but the soul accepts another body as a person puts on new clothes.

2. The second aspect insists that One has an inescapable duty to perform the work assigned to him. As a kshatriya (warrior) it is your inescapable duty to fight and win the enemy. “You have the right only to fulfill your duty and not for its fruits. To fulfill your balanced duty by abandoning all attachments to success or failure. That equanimity is called Yoga.”

Thus spoke Krishna in the second chapter.

Chapter 3: Karma Yoga

Lord Krishna explains the cause of any action and the methods for performing duty.

Active aspirants find enlightenment through the path of action. Activity is better than inertia. The world is imprisoned in its own activity, except when actions are performed as worship of God. Therefore, you must perform every action in a sacramental way and be free from all attachments to the results in this regard.

After expounding various factors in support of performing duties and methods in this regard, Lord Krishna says:

“You only have a duty to fulfill, you have no right to the result.
Therefore, O Arjuna, with full knowledge of me, give me all your works.
I have no desire for profit, without any property rights and free from lethargy,
Fight. “(Verse 30 of Chapter 3)

Chapter 4: Karma gyana Yoga, Yoga of Karma (action) through knowledge.

Krishna continues …
“What is action? What is inaction? Even the sages are puzzled by this question. Therefore, I will tell you what action is. When you know this, you will be free from all impurities. The real nature of action it is difficult to understand. He who sees inaction that is in action and action in inaction is truly wise. Even when engaged in action, he is in balance in the tranquility of the Atman (soul).

Krishna quotes various actions prescribed by the Vedas. The reward for all actions is found in enlightenment. When you have reached enlightenment, ignorance will no longer deceive you. You will see the complete creation within your own Atman and in me.

Therefore, the doubts that have arisen in your heart out of ignorance must be cut off with the weapon of knowledge. Armed with yoga, oh Arjuna, stand up and fight “

Chapter 5: Karma Sanyasa yoga (Yoga of Renunciation)

On the one hand, Krishna defends that doing duty is the best way to salvation, on the other, he praises renunciation as the best way. Arjuna wants to know which is the safest way and Krishna explains it in the fifth chapter.

Krishna: “Both action and renunciation of material benefits will help one to achieve paradise (heaven). But performing duties is more important between the two. Renunciation is not possible without performing it. Like drops of water on one lotus leaf, a Sanyasi (saint) who performs without attachment is unaffected by sins, if any, as a result of that action.

A yogi is not attracted to the material pleasures of the senses, but is always in a trance, enjoying inner pleasure. In this way, the self-realized person enjoys unlimited happiness, because he concentrates on the Supreme. “

The essence of the teachings is given in the 5-chapter summary. We saw the nature of duties and the effects of resignation. God willing, other chapters will be covered over time.

I highly recommend that readers review all chapters for complete wisdom and success in life.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *